House System

When children join the Academy they are placed into one of three Houses. The three houses are: ROMERO named after Archbishop Oscar Romero (Red), TERESA named after Mother Teresa of Calcutta (Yellow) and MANDELA (Green) named after Nelson Mandela. These are figures of the 20th century whose lives demonstrate powerfully the difference ordinary, individual humans can make and are real examples of commitment, dedication, courage and integrity. All three of these individuals truly ‘Let their light shine’ and are inspirational role models for our children.

The House system runs vertically through the Academy with pupils in every year from Reception to Year 11 placed into one of the three houses. Pupils stay in the same house for the duration of their time at the Academy and siblings will all belong to the same house.

The house system creates a strong family and community feel and provides considerable opportunity for leadership skills for students as they move through the Academy. 

Students accumulate house points by taking part in a variety of competitions, by showcasing the SMA values, attendance and achievement points. There are rewards for the houses that receive the most house points. 

St Matthew Academy is proud to announce three new Heads of House:

Mr Solomon - Mandela

Ms Kakou - Romero

Mr Salih - Teresa 

Secondary Pupil House Leaders: 

Mandela House 

Head of House - Lilia Yahiaoui

Deputy Head of House - Finlay Jameson 


Teresa House 

Head of  House - Dominion Nden Christopher 

Deputy Head of House  - Benita Asabare


Romero House 

Head of House  - Shannon Williams

Deputy Head of House - Kavin Premkumar 

Primary Pupil House Leaders: 

Mandela House  


Teresa House

Romero House