South East London Emerging Schools 7's Rugby Tournament. - St Matthew Academy

  • Year 10 Rugby Squad

South East London Emerging Schools 7's Rugby Tournament.

The competition started at 1.30pm in the sun at “Old Colfieans “ground against John Roan. We dominated from the start, and scored early tries with our speed and power being evident against much smaller opposition. In the second half we went into a different gear to amount a large score with Power coming from the captain Bobby Bratton and Tyrese and speed on the wing from the impressive Kyrese. 

Score 38-0

In the second game Trinity scored an early try, which we needed as we had a slow start to the game and our local rivals Trinity had some real pace out wide. We soon settled and made some good tries with the offload coming quickly from good work from Keiran Underhill our “power house “in the scrum.  Score 28-16

This game was very tense from the start as Knights had some real pace in their team which our boys initially struggled with, however eventually the power of the runs from Danny Armast and Tyrese plus Diego and Kyrese matching their pace out wide we managed to get control of the game in the second half and win.    

Score 19-14

With much riding on this last game against my former school Bacons, I encouraged the boys to not only enjoy it but go out and express themselves, it was not easy, Bacons were impressive in the scrum, however they could not match the powerful running and good leadership from our Captain, so we went into an early lead. The boys were tiring and I made some changes with Harry Blunt coming on for his debut and Kyrese again using his impressive Speed out wide.

Score 19-7

We impressively won all 4 matches against our local rivals and our year 10 boy’s sportsmanship and behaviour was impeccable throughout. We lifted the trophy for the Academy at 5pm, please congratulate all students involved as everyone played their part in this St Georges day win!

1. Bobby Bratton (Captain)

2. Tyrese Bankole

3. Danny Armast

4. Diego Sotelo

5. Simon Achiri

6. Kieran Underhill

7. Kyrese Lawrence-Dyer

8. Eliakim Asare

9. Moyo Bankole

10, Steven Shine

11. Nicholas Johnston

12. Jacapo Mensah

13. Harry Blunt

14. Ezeikel Ogbah Etafo

15. Adam Sianga