The House system - St Matthew Academy

  • Header 2

The House system

The House system

When children join the Academy they are placed into one of three Houses. The three houses are ROMERO (Red), TERESA (Yellow) and MANDELA (Green), named after Archbishop Oscar Romero, Mother Teresa of Calcutta and Nelson Mandela respectively – figures of the 20th century whose lives demonstrate powerfully the difference ordinary, individual humans can make and are real examples of commitment, dedication, courage and integrity. All three of these individuals truly ‘let their light shine’ and are inspirational role models for our children.

The House system runs vertically through the Academy with students in every year from Reception to Year 11 placed into one of the three houses. From Year 7 onwards two classes in each year are in each house - students stay in the same house for the duration of their time at the Academy.

This pastoral care structure creates a strong family and community feel and provides considerable opportunity for leadership skills for students as they move through the Academy. 

Please click here for more information about our House Patrons